Deep thoughts about prayer

Wisdomforlife

When I go through seasons of prayer where I feel I am not being heard, I typically tend to question my motives (James 4:3) and the depth of my walk with God (Psalm 66:18; James 5:16). I know these are important considerations to effective prayer.

At a deeper level, I wonder if my requests are according to God’s will (I John 5:14). And then there is the matter of presumption versus faith. Perhaps I am presuming on God in my request. “Is this faith or presumption?” I ask myself.

Like Jesus’ early disciples, I have times when I say, “Lord teach me to pray” (Luke 11:1). The well-known saying, “Prayer changes things” often turns out to be “Prayer changes me.” Yet, in the midst of my uncertainty, I cannot stop praying (I Thessalonians 5:17).  I remind myself of the words of the psalmist, “Trust in him at all times, O people…

View original post 334 more words

This entry was posted in Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

