If Your mercy had boundaries

“My Father, if Your mercy had boundaries, where would be my refuge from just wrath? But Your love for me in Christ is without measure.

I present myself to You with sins of commission and omission, against You, my Father, against You, my Redeemer, against You and Your stirrings, O Holy Spirit, against the dictates of my conscience, against the commands of Your Word, against my neighbors and myself.

Enter not into judgment with me, for I plead no righteousness of my own, and have no place to hide my sin. Pardon my day – dark with evil. This night I renew my repentance. Every morning I vow

    • to love You more fervently,
    • to serve You more sincerely,
    • to be more devoted in my life,
    • to be completely Yours;

Yet I soon stumble, backslide, and have to confess my weakness, misery and sin. 

But I bless You that the finished work of Jesus needs no addition from my doings, that His atonement is sufficient satisfaction for my sins. 

If future days be mine, help me to amend my life, to hate and abhor evil, to flee the sins I confess. Make me more resolute, more watchful, more prayerful.

Let no evil fruit spring from evil seeds my hands have sown; Let no neighbor be hardened in vanity and foolishness by my want of watchfulness. If this day I have been ashamed of Christ and His Word, or have shown unkindness, malice, envy, lack of love, unadvised speech, hasty temper, let it be no stumbling block to others, or dishonor to Your name” (from “The Valley of Vision”).

About Wisdomforlife

Just another worker in God's field.
This entry was posted in Devotions, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment