What’s love got to do with it?

Valentine’s Day is (for many people) about love.

  • Is there a way to know what love really is?
  • Can we fall in love and fall out of love?
  • When someone says, “I love you,” is there a way to know if he/she means it?

When couples want to be married, they tell me they love each other. When they want to divorce, they tell me they no longer love.

  • Are we victims of love?
  • Can we train ourselves to love?
  • What is love?

Love is indispensable to marriage, family and community. Relationships are difficult when love is absent but we need an objective way to understand what love looks like when it’s present.

Scripture commands husbands to love their wives (Ephesians 5:25); Older women are to train younger women to love their husbands and children (Titus 2:4) and communities of Christians are to be distinguished by their love for one another (John 13:35).

The best description of love is found in fourteen qualities of love listed in I Corinthains 13:4-8. This remains one of the most quoted Scriptures in wedding ceremonies. We are wise to often visit this description of love. When reading this, I recommend putting your name in the place of the word love. Do this now and you’ll feel a greater degree of conviction to become more loving.

  • “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” (I Corinthians 13:4-8, NIV).

This is God’s prescription for great relationships!

Notice how love is anti-rivalry. It is protective of the one loved. It repudiates destructive conflict. Playful rivalry has a place in relationships, but some form of divisive rivalry is almost always involved in bad relationships.

Take a closer look at each quality of love.

  1. Love is patient: It is bears long with others. It restrains anger when provoked.
  2. Love is kind: It reaches out in acts of care and concern for others. Love patiently forebears and (in kindness), actively pursues the good of the one loved. Loving people are distinguished by kindness.
  3. Love does not envy: It does not resent the blessings of others. An envier gloats over the harm or misfortune of the one envied.
  4. Love does not boast: Love corrects the desire to call attention to yourself. A loving person is not a windbag or braggart. He does not parade himself. Love is willing to work anonymously. It does not need a stage. It does not seek an applause.
  5. Love is not proud: not puffed up; not arrogant; not full of oneself. A loving person does not think more highly of himself than sober judgment permits (Romans 12:3).
  6. Love is does not dishonor others: It is not rude. It is respectful of others.
  7. Love is not self-seeking: It does not insist on its own way. It is not self-absorbed.
  8. Love is not easily angered: It is not easily agitated nor easily provoked. Loving people are not hot-tempered and short-fused.
  9. Love keeps no record of wrongs: Love seeks forgiveness and reconciliation.
  10. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth: Love rules out gossip, slander, and delight in the downfall of others.

    Loves grand finale reminds us that,
    “love always protects, trusts, hopes, perseveres.” Love brings everything under its influence — “there is nothing love cannot face” (NEB). “Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance” (NLT). Love is tenacious and faithful; brave and noble; love never fails.

Love is “the most excellent way” (I Corinthians 12:31). “These three remain: Faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love” (I Corinthians 13:13).

Scripture reminds that God’s love was put on display when he loved undesirable and rebellious sinners like us – “when we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8). Jesus, the Creator, became a creature; the King became a servant; the Shepherd became a lamb; the sinless one was made sin for us; the High Priest became the sacrifice. This is love.

Let’s make a habit of evaluating our relationships based on the 14 qualities of love in I Corinthians 13.

We’ve printed these qualities of love (along with an eight point communication covenant) on laminated cards for easy use. Simply email your mailing address to office@millersvillebiblechurch.org and we will send several copies to you as our gift. Request the love cards.

secure in undeserved love,

Steve Cornell

About Wisdomforlife

Just another worker in God's field.
This entry was posted in Broken Relationships, Divorce, God's Love, Love, Marriage, Radical love, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s love got to do with it?

  1. Excellent. Excellent. This is Jesus-kind of love. See our post, The High Cost of Loving, Feb 17.

    20 ways of showing love including

    When I LOVE I will rejoice with you when you’re happy and mourn when you’re sad.

    When I LOVE I examine my heart when you confront me, rather than defend myself.

    I forgot to include thre one about love not keeping a record of wrongs, but we did say,

    When I LOVE I will seek to forgive you if you hurt my feelings and won’t nurse a grudge.

  2. Reblogged this on Wisdomforlife and commented:

    Take a closer look at each of the 14 qualities of true love.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s