Urgent question (audio link)

I promised a link to my audio message (see below) focused on this urgent question for the Church:

Q. How can we proclaim and celebrate a gospel of grace and forgiveness (while enforcing standards of morality) without becoming a prideful and self-righteous or watchful and legalistic Church?

Three Foundational Truths

  1. The costly nature of saving grace (v. 7- “For Christ, our Passover lamb, has been sacrificed”; Romans 5:8)
  2. The transforming power of salvation (I John 3:9 – “No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in them; they cannot go on sinning, because they have been born of God.” cf. James 2)
  3. The necessity of community for spiritual transformation (Hebrews 3:12-13; 10:24; 13:17)

Listen to this important message here.

Steve Cornell

This entry was posted in Audio, Audio Resource, Church Leadership, Church membership, Elders, Local Church, Pastors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Urgent question (audio link)

  1. Sarah Baldwin says:

    Pastor Steve, a wonderfully insightful sermon. I have several involvements with others whom are having relationship issues. They are all unique to the issues they are dealing with but ultimately it’s about another person. I am greatful for your teaching and the Care Ministry series. I sometimes question myself on why others are asking me to be involved but I do my best to direct them to the Word of God and the need to look within for answers to questions. I have passed this message to one person and they expressed how “great the message” was.

    In Christ,
    Sarah Baldwin

Leave a Reply

