Moving from forgiveness to reconciliation

Too many people do not understand this distinction.

Wisdomforlife

“He said I am sorry but it’s at least the tenth time! I don’t know what to do. I am told that it’s my Christian duty to forgive and the Lord knows I’ve tried. But each time I forgive him, he changes for a little while and returns to the same behavior. I have a gut feeling I am handling this the wrong way. He never really changes and I just become more angry. What should I do?”

Sound familiar? I encounter people all the time who are trying to forgive someone who has repeatedly hurt them. They know it’s their Christian duty to forgive but often feel they’re being taken advantage or manipulated. They also have a disturbing sense that they’re enabling the selfish behavior of their offender.

Is there something wrong with this picture? Is this what forgiveness requires? Is it possible to forgive someone while withholding reconciliation…

View original post 2,151 more words

This entry was posted in Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

