I confess. I hate snow!

Confession is good for the soul.

I live in the North East of the US where we got two feet of snow delivered to us last weekend. 

When I was young, I loved the snow. It meant school delays or days off. I loved playing in it.

Even into my young teen years, I loved the snow. We did the kind of sledding that could have taken your life. We even wore football helmets! We use to tie three sleds to the back of a snow mobile and took turns on the last sled because it was guaranteed to roll on the turns. It was a mark of manhood if you could stay on the last sled!

I even remember thinking that snow was beautiful. The trees wore it like a majestic robe and the landscape glistened as the Sun shined! Ok, I didn’t think about it exactly that way, but I thought it looked really amazing.

Not so anymore!

I actually hate snow now more than ever. I see it as a mess that slows progress and requires removal. Before last winter, I bought a little used snow blower at a yard sale and barely had the chance to use it. The first time I needed it this winter, it was kind of fun. By the third time, however, it lost its appeal.

Perhaps I need to take my grandchildren out to play in the snow to recapture a good attitude toward it. They always have a way of cheering things up.

Those who live north of me probably wonder how I could let what little snow we get in Pennsylvania even bother me. Some of them have snow seven or eight months out of the year!  

My relatives in Maine remind me that at least the snow in Pennsylvania melts before the next snow!” Right now, however, I am thinking about visiting my relatives in Florida!

Meanwhile, to help correct my attitude, I checked to see what Scripture says about snow.

The first verse I encountered rebuked me.

  • “To the snow, He says, ‘Fall on the earth,’ And to the downpour and the rain, ‘Be strong'” (Job 37:6).

So that’s why it’s snowing! Now I really need to get an attitude check!

Then I read of God asking Job,

  • “Have you entered the storehouses of the snow, Or have you seen the storehouses of the hail,” (Job 38:22).

The snow we just got felt like the storehouse was emptied on us! But I better keep quiet lest the storehouses have much more to send our way! 

My attention then turned to Proverbs where snow is used to expose the fool.

  • “Like snow in summer and like rain in harvest, So honor is not fitting for a fool” (Proverbs 26:1)

At least we don’t get snow in the summer!

Next I read about the noble wife who is not intimidated by the snow.

  • “She is not afraid of the snow for her household, For all her household are clothed with scarlet” (Proverbs 31:21).

Good for her! She can have my snow too.

But moving to a more serious tone, I thought of the most familiar reference to snow in the Bible.

  • “Come now, and let us reason together,” Says the LORD, “Though your sins are as scarlet, They will be as white as snow; (Isaiah 1:18).

The Psalmist prayed, “Purify me from my sins, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.”

When our Lord appeared to the Apostle John, we learn that, “His head and His hair were white like white wool, like snow; and His eyes were like a flame of fire” (Revelation 1:14).

I’ll try to think about these references to snow to keep my attitude in check! 

Steve Cornell

This entry was posted in Snow, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I confess. I hate snow!

  1. theywhoseek says:

    Thanks for your hatred of snow . . . it will remind me of how God hates sin . . . and how He promises to blot out the crimson stain that the leave with the blood of His precious Son. Amen and Amen! ~ Blessings ~

  2. wellsbunch2014j says:

    We live in Western Australia. There’s hardly any part of this state that gets snow, and it doesn’t stay on the ground long if it does snow. At the moment it’s summer over here, and in Perth in summer time we regularly get temperatures over 100°F (38°C to us). In December, we had a day of 107°F (42°C). I need an attitude check on those days. But as I get older (64 now and no longer working), I find God is helping me in unusual ways. When the temperature is that high, I seem to be able to sleep right through the hottest part of the day, and the heat doesn’t affect me as much. Last summer, we had a day of 46°C – 115°F, and I thought, this is going to be awful! But somehow, it wasn’t, even though I was awake through much of it. Afterwards, I thought That wasn’t too bad. The next day the temperature was to be 36°C – a full 10°C lower. I thought, this should be easy, but it was worse than the previous day. I believe the Lord helped me through that really hot day, and He didn’t help as much the next day to show how much He had helped on the really hot one. I am learning how much He can help when we really need it. In the meantime, could you send some of that snow over here?

Leave a Reply

