A prayer and A song

All Your lovingkindness to me is in Your Son,

  • I bring Him to You by faith,
  • I honor His saving Name as the One who died for me.
  • I plead His blood to pay my debts of wrong.

I accept

    His worthiness for my unworthiness,
    His sinlessness for my transgressions,
    His purity for my uncleanness,
    His sincerity for my guile,
    His truth for my deceits,
    His meekness for my pride,
    His constancy for my backslidings,
    His love for my enmity,
    His fullness for my emptiness,
    His faithfulness for my treachery,
    His obedience for my lawlessness,
    His glory for my shame,
    His devotedness for my waywardness,
    His holy life for my unholy ways,
    His righteousness for my dead works,
    His death for my life.

O Lord God,

Teach me to know that grace precedes, accompanies, and follows my salvation; that it sustains the redeemed soul, that not one link of its chain can ever break.

From the cross of Christ wave upon wave of grace reaches me,

  • deals with my sin,
  • washes me clean,
  • renews my heart,
  • strengthens my will,
  • draws out my affection,
  • kindles a flame in my soul,
  • rules throughout my inner man,
  • consecrates my every thought, word, work,
  • teaches me your immeasurable love.
How great are my privileges in Christ Jesus!
  • Without him I stand far off, a stranger, an outcast;
  • in him I draw near and touch his kingly sceptre.
  • Without him I dare not lift up my guilty eyes;
  • in him I gaze upon my Father-God and Friend.
  • Without him I hide my lips in trembling shame;
  •  in him I open my mouth in petition and praise.
  • Without him all is wrath and consuming fire;
  •  in him is all love, and the rest for my soul.
  • Without him hell is open below me, and eternal anguish;
  • in him its gates are barred to me by his precious blood.
  • Without him darkness spreads its horrors in front;
  • in him an eternity of glory is my boundless horizon.
  • Without him all within me is terror and dismay,
  • in him every accusation is charmed into joy and peace.
  • Without him all things external call for my condemnation;
  • in him they minister to my comfort, and are to be enjoyed with thanksgiving.
I praise You for grace and for the unspeakable gift I have in Jesus Christ my Savior.
__________________________________________________________________

(adapted from ‘The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers,’ edited by Arthur Bennett)

This entry was posted in Assurance, Christian life, Christianity, Confession, Jesus Christ, Praise, Prayer, Puritans and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A prayer and A song

Leave a Reply

