15 minutes could change your life

A close relationship with God is experienced by spending time with him, by meeting him in His written word, and carefully listening to what God is telling us.

Let me offer a very helpful resource for doing this! 

It’s a reachable plan for daily quiet time with God.

Most of us get started with high expectations and sputter out quickly. My hope is that you will find so much help and encouragement by meeting God in His Word that you wouldn’t think of a day without this practice. 

Here’s a brief introduction of the resource taken directly from it. You could also use it in small groups. 

Meeting God in His Word

(A 15 minute plan for each day)

Step 1 – First five minutes… in praise and giving thanks

It is best to enter God’s presence with praise and thankfulness. We honor God by declaring His greatness: “Father in heaven, your name is exalted, and you are worthy of praise. Today, I praise you because you are the only true God. I specifically praise you because of your:

(Focus on one attribute for the day)

  • Love: sacrificial giving for my benefit
  • Mercy: withholding the judgment I deserve
  • Grace: goodness to me when I only deserve judgment.
  • Patience: bearing with disobedient creatures like me
  • Kindness: thoughtful actions for my good
  • Faithfulness: loyalty and trustworthiness
  • Holiness: complete uniqueness and separation from sin
  • Power: ability to do all things 
  • Salvation: provider of forgiveness and reconciliation
  • Sovereignty: absolute authority and rule over your creation

“I praise you for salvation through my Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. Through Jesus alone, I come to you. He is the way, the truth and the life. He is your gift of love to me as an unworthy sinner. I thank you that through Jesus I have been:

  • Forgiven of my sins
  • Justified in your sight
  • Reconciled to you
  • Adopted as your child
  • Given the Holy Spirit who lives in me
  • United with the body of Christ, the Church
  • Assured a home in heaven”

“I acknowledge that (apart from Jesus as my Savior), I am unworthy of you and your gifts of love. I need you to teach me how to live a life that pleases you. I ask you to open my eyes to see and my ears to hear as I enter your Word. I humbly ask you to use your Word in my life to change me more into the likeness of Jesus Christ.”

Step 2 – The second five minutes… in the Word on specific Scriptures

Carefully reading the chosen verses, underline key words or phrases and write them down. Consider the following example:

John 14:1-3

“Don’t be troubled. You trust God, now trust in me. There are many rooms in my Father’s home, and I am going to prepare a place for you. If this were not so, I would tell you plainly. When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am.” (NLT)

The underlined words and phrases are the ones that make connections with your life. Re-read the verses several times and pause to think about the words and phrases you underlined. Think about ways that these words connect with your walk with God.

Step 3 – The final five minutes… responding to God through His Word          

Talk to God about the connections you’re making in the words and phrases. Perhaps one or two key ideas speak to your walk with God in deeply needed ways. In the passage above, we could talk to God about our tendency to be troubled or our need to grow in our trust in God’s plan for us. We could also thank God for giving us assurance for our future. We could tell him how much we look forward to being in that place Jesus is preparing for us. Finally, through this Scripture, we could express our longing to always be with our Savior.

Examples

Meeting God in His Word

Date: __________

Time: __________ 

Scripture: Colossians 3:23-24

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”

5 Minutes of Praise and Giving Thanks

 

5 Minutes in the Word (Underline key words and phrases)

 

5 Minutes Responding to God through His Word (Focus on the underlined parts) 

__________________________________________________________

 Meeting God in His Word

Date: __________

Time: __________ 

Scripture: Romans 5:8-10

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him!  For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!” 

5 Minutes of Praise and Giving Thanks

 

5 Minutes in the Word (Underline key words and phrases) 

5 Minutes Responding to God through His Word (Focus on the underlined parts) 

______________________________________

To purchase a 5×7 spire bound copy ofMeeting God in His Word” covering two months of days, send your name and address to me at s.cornell@millersvillebiblechurch.org 

We ask $ 8.00 each to cover production costs. (The content above is from the book) 

Steve Cornell

This entry was posted in Change, Christian Counselor, Counseling, Devotions, Guidelines for living, Quiet Time, Seeking God, Spiritual Detox, Spiritual disciplines, Spiritual growth, Spiritual inventory, Spiritual transformation, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 15 minutes could change your life

  1. booklovers1 says:

    Thanks for the tips!!! Sometimes I just run out of ideas and am sick of reading devotional, however helpful they may be.

  2. liam says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. Ill probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

Leave a Reply

