My only comfort in life and death


“What is your only comfort in life and in death? That I am not my own, but belong body and soul to my faithful savior Jesus Christ.” Heidelberg catechism 

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body” (I Corinthians 6:19-20).

“For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me. Yet what shall I choose? I do not know! I am torn between the two: I desire to depart and be with Christ, which is better by far” (Philippians 1:21-23).

Here I rest and here I flourish — in living and dying!

To God be the glory!

See also: Truths about life and death from three verses of Scripture.

Steve Cornell

This entry was posted in Afraid to die, Afterlife, Death, Fear, Fear of death, Heaven. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

