Letter to the President of the United States

Dear President Obama,

On Martin Luther King Day (January 21), we honor the fearless leadership of a man who was willing to put everything on the line for a costly but worthy battle for human rights. I am grateful to live in a country that is far different because of bold leaders like Dr. King.

Yet celebration of our progress will be sadly overshadowed by commemoration of Sanctity of Human Life Sunday (January 20). On this day, many citizens of this nation will grieve the loss of 54 million precious lives over the past 40 years of so-called “abortion rights.”

To visualize this tragic loss of life, a group from Michigan invited readers to think about three of their stadiums: The Big House in Ann Arbor, Spartan Stadium in East Lansing, and Comerica Park in Detroit. To host more than 54 million fans, all three of these stadiums would need to fill to capacity 240 separate times! (PRC).

Mr. President, I ask you to stand in the great tradition of those who against all odds opposed oppression and violence. I appeal to you only to promote policies that end the horrors being unleashed on the precious lives of unborn citizens. We need laws that compassionately help the women facing unplanned pregnancies and protect the lives of their babies. Please be a voice for those who are not permitted to speak. 

I appeal to you to resist the pressures of popularity and political expedience and to hear the silent screams of these vulnerable citizens. Please acknowledge their personhood  and rescue them from brutal destruction at the hands of “professionals.” The unborn need a president who values their lives.

May the courage, boldness and sacrifice of Martin Luther King Jr. inspire you to be the president who says, “Never again!” 

with prayer for you,

Steve Cornell

A prayer of honor to our Creator:
For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”  (Psalm 139:13-16)
This entry was posted in 44th President, Abortion, Barack Obama, Democracy, Democrats, Equal Rights, Equality, Government, Human dignity, Life, Obama, Political Correctness, Politics, Pro-life, Republican, Sanctity of life, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

