Hurt by others? Two important resources


7 signs of true repentance

How do you work toward reconciliation when you’ve been deeply and perhaps repeatedly hurt by someone? How can you rebuild trust? The first and most important step is to confirm the genuineness of the apology or repentance of the one who hurt you. While it is true that changes to deeply ingrained patters do not occur overnight, certain attitudes are essential to authentic repentance and to hope for change. These attitudes flourish in hearts where God has granted repentance (see: II Timothy 2:25).

Read on……… here

Moving from Forgiveness to Reconciliation

”He said I am sorry but it’s at least the tenth time! I don’t know what to do. I am told that it’s my Christian duty to forgive and the Lord knows I’ve tried. But each time I forgive him, he changes for a little while and then returns to the same behavior. I have a gut feeling I am handling things the wrong way. He never really changes and I just get more angry. What should I do?”

Sound Familiar? I encounter people all the time who are trying to forgive someone who has repeatedly hurt them. They know it’s their Christian duty to forgive but often feel they’re being taken advantage or manipulated. They also have a disturbing sense that they’re enabling the selfish behavior of their offender.

Read on ………. here.


Steve Cornell

About Wisdomforlife

Just another field worker in God's field.
This entry was posted in Abuse, Accountability, Anger, Counseling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hurt by others? Two important resources

  1. bbrown1 says:

    Such an important topic. Relevant to everyone.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

