Where glory meets my suffering

“Why?” “The question that is never far away. But healing doesn’t come from the explained.”

What a great truth about the place where “the hurt and the Healer collide! 

This is the place “where Glory meets my suffering.” I love so many lines in the song I’ve linked below by MercyMe!

You can experience the place where the hurt and the Healer collide by meeting with “the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles” (II Corinthians 1:3-4).

Our future will bring glory in place of suffering! This will happen when the One who sits on the throne says, “I am making everything new!” Then the words will be fulfilled: 

“Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away” (Revelation 21:3-4).

Until this great day, we ask God for grace to apply the truth that, “our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us” (Romans 8:18). Yes, we “groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption to sonship, the redemption of our bodies.” (Romans 8:23).

We suffer. We wait. We groan. We hope. We know. 

Gratefully, “the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.” And, “we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him” (Romans 8:26,28). 

I know people who have suffered far more than me. Some have lost a loved one. With deep feeling, they can sing the line: “even though a part of me has died, take my heart and breathe it back to life.”

I thought about some of these people in these lines: 

“Breathe. Sometimes I feel it’s all that I can do, pain so deep that I can hardly move. Just keep my eyes completely fixed on you.. Lord take hold and pull me through, so here I am what’s left of me, where glory meets my suffering.” 

“The moment when humanity is overcome by majesty and grace is ushered in for good. And all our scars are understood; When mercy takes its rightful place; And all these questions fade away; When out of weakness we must bow; And hear You say, ‘It’s over now!'”

Steve Cornell

This entry was posted in Addiction, Afraid to die, Afterlife, Anxiety, Assurance, Blessed are those who mourn, Broken Relationships, Change, Christian life, Christian worldview, Christianity, Comfort, Crisis, Death, Depression, Despair, Devotions, Discouragement, Drug addiction, Emotions, Encouragement, Eschatology, Eternal life, Eternal security, Evil in the world, Fear, Fear of death, God's Heart, God's Protection, Gospel, Grace, Heaven, Hope?, Joy, Meaning of life, Mercy, Pain, Peace, Personal devotions, Personal thoughts, Poor in spirit, Praise, Prayer, Problem of evil, Prodigal son, Promises of Bible, Prophecy, Questioning God, Restoration, Resurrection, Salvation, Security of salvation, Spiritual growth, Spiritual transformation, Suffering, Trials, Video, Violence, Walking with God, Worldview, Worship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where glory meets my suffering

  1. Pingback: Teach this truth to new believers | WisdomForLife

  2. Reblogged this on WisdomForLife and commented:

    Don’t miss the great song of worship in this post.

  3. tricia says:

    15 Months after the death of my husband, I find myself greatly encourage and comforted by your post Steve, thank you for expressing what I could not find words for.

Leave a Reply

