Atheism and Cynicism fail the test

Atheism – just too simple

“How had I got this idea of just and unjust?” C. S. Lewis questioned.

“A man does not call a line crooked unless he has some idea of a straight line. What was I comparing this universe with when I called it unjust? If the whole show was bad and senseless from A to Z, so to speak, why did I, who was supposed to be part of the show, find myself in such violent reaction against it? Thus in the very act of trying to prove that God did not exist-in other words, that the whole of reality was senseless- I found I was forced to assume that one part of reality-namely my idea of justice was full of sense. Consequently atheism turns out to be too simple. If the whole universe has no meaning, we should never have found out that it has no meaning.” (C. S. Lewis, Mere Christianity)

Cynicism – too superficial

“There is something too superficial about cynicism. It seemed too complete in its tidy and convenient dismissal of virtue.  I realized that many of the key cynical judgments I had made were overreaching what I could actually know” (Dick keyes).

Christianity – No rose-colored glasses

“Unlike other worldviews that I had considered, I never felt the God of the Bible was asking me to put on rose-colored glasses. Even the heroes of the Bible were described unsparingly in appalling moral failures—lies, sexual aberrations and murders.  I did not have to give up the honesty and realism that I had valued.  Cynicism claimed that the world— both inside and outside of our heads—was profoundly broken and bent. I realized that the Christian faith had been saying this for two-thousand years, and Judaism for longer than that” (Dick keyes).

Final thought

Scripture teaches us to allow for a world God prescribed (the goodness and innocence of Eden); one He permitted (the violence and rebellion of Cain) and a world He will providentially make new (the new heavens and earth).

Steve Cornell

This entry was posted in Apologetics, Atheism, Atheists, Blaming religion, C. S. Lewis, Christianity, Culture, Cynicism, Worldview and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Atheism and Cynicism fail the test

  1. aforcier says:

    i also heard a quote once… not sure of its author, but i believe it was st. francis of assisi… reflecting on the mirror effect of a lake’s surface… “for having shown me the surface, you have hidden the depths” – i think that’s the problem with religious people. they see the surface of atheism. but not the depth. they see us as a reverse reflection of their beliefs. – and we are.

    that keeps the arguments betweeen theists and atheists going. i do it to.

    but i am not always an atheist, i am of this nature. and as such, i can observe its dephts… from where i live, i feel a connection, a powerful sense of meaning and purpose. i take a deep breath and am greateful to be alive now, on earth, in this body, mind, and consciousness.

    http://www.ANaturalPhilosophy.com

Leave a Reply

